Cracking my shell by Charlotte E from Camp Jewell

I grew up with a shell.  A shell to protect me and to filter out the people who would affect me negatively.  In bad situations I would rely on my shell to help me find the safe way out.  In a way, my shell was my friend.  My shell was also my worst enemy.  It kept me from doing things that may not have been the best choice, but that I still really wanted to do.  It kept me from branching out of my comfort zone.  In the end, I was scared of what would happen in I lost my shell.  When I first came to Camp Jewell, I simply expected my shell to help protect me in some cases, and restrict me in others.  But what happened at camp that first year wasn’t any of those things.  Camp Jewell helped me lost my shell.

 

Ever since day one, all of my cabin mates have accepted me.  I’ve been nurtured in a way that lets me grow by myself.  This was probably the main element that lead me to losing my shell.  For example, my best friend today was a girl I mat at camp my first year.  We kept in touch over the past year and stated right where we left off last year.  She has taught me how to take chances and she believes in mall of the choices I make.  Without these comforting people surrounding me, there is no way I could of become a more independent and confident person. 

 

Since I’ve for a lack of better words, shed my shell, I’ve been a lot happier.  I’ve learned to deal with situations the way that I truly want to.  Without Camp Jewell, none of this would have ever happened.  I am so incredible blessed with how my situation turned out and I love watching other campers unfold and crack their own shells.  That is what I love most about Camp Jewell; experiencing things for yourself and then watching others do the same.  I will forever be thankful for Camp Jewell. 

                                                                                By: Charlotte, Cabin 9A

Leave a comment